Work…

I haven’t really posted much about my work lately.  Which, in all honesty, is odd because it’s where I spend the majority of my time.  But, even though it’s where I spend a lot of my time, it’s also where I get a lot of satisfaction!

So…my job.  For my new readers, J and I moved back to the States after a 3.5 year assignment in the Netherlands for work.  While there, I was working as an account manager for all European customers in our business.  It was a challenging job, and not as fulfilling as I would have liked.  I worked remotely (my boss and team were located in England), and while I liked having that autonomy, I really missed having camaraderie with my team.  So, when we moved back to the US, I was still working in my old job as an account manager, but really hopeful to find something different that would challenge me, but also allow me to work closely with my team.

When we moved home, I was incredibly fortunate to find a few jobs that would work well with where I wanted to go in my career, and give me the challenge I was looking for.  I applied to three different positions, two of which were straight Program Management positions, and the third was a hybrid between Account Management and Program Management.  I was offered all three positions, so I had the opportunity to choose what would be the best fit for me.

I ended up choosing one of the Program Management positions in our off-highway sector (primarily for equipment that runs off-road, hence “off-highway”).  I chose this position because a) it was a fantastic opportunity, and b) the person who would be my boss was fantastic. 

Now I’m a few months into the job, and I still love it!  Every day is a new challenge, but I am learning so much and my boss is fantastic.  My team is hard-working and fun, and we all manage to get stuff done while having a good time (which is key).  I really couldn’t have asked for a better job, if I’m honest.  I work long hours (J does as well), but it’s so interesting and exciting that I really don’t mind it.  Granted, everything is definitely not rainbows and butterflies, but I like it, so that’s what matters.  So, currently I am program managing three different programs for our smaller engines (I work at a diesel engine company, though in the  side, which is a big filter we put on the engine to keep the air clean), and I’m lucky in that the main members of each group are consistent throughout the programs.  J also works in off-highway as well, so we don’t work on any of the same projects.  I spend a lot of time working forecasts, financial summaries (costs and prices) and managing schedules.  Microsoft Project has become my new best friend.  I’m also learning more about finance than I ever wanted to know, but it’s so worth it.

So…that’s my job.  I basically manage a great big schedule and a lot of different people/interests.  It’s hectic, but fun, and I couldn’t be happier and more satisfied in my work capacity!

Any questions, let me know!

Much love,
K.

herding-cats

Leave a comment